Skip to content

Should our class adopt an Orca Whale?

Those of you in class know that, at the end of the day today, Hannah proposed the idea of adopting a whale as a classroom.  Some questions to ask are:

  • How would this help us in our learning about Puget Sound? 
  • Does the money we pay to adopt the whale go to help Puget Sound whales?
  • Is this this a worthy place to give money?
  • And of course, If we did, as a class, adopt an orca, which one would you want to adopt, and why.  🙂

Here is the link to the Whale Museum’s Orca Adoption Program.  Please feel free to leave your comments about this idea for others to see and think about.

-Ms. Isler

 

Published innot a category

18 Comments

  1. Jaime(:!

    For question one, I don’t know a lot of reasons how adopting a whale will help us learn about Puget Sound… YET! I think adopting a whale will definetly bring unexpected suprises.
    The second question, I’ll try to answer with another question: The money doesn’t really have a lot of “bad” ways to go from my point of view, and besides, why would a group of people get together, form a website to adopt an amazing (and I’m pretty sure endangered) animal, and not use the money to keep the website and cause going?
    If I am right, then all I have to say is: Yup.
    How can I chose! And plus, I just want an Orca.

  2. Christian

    Well I think that adopting an orca will really help the environment since orcas are starting to die out. There is one question I have, when we adopt an orca, do we have to continue sending money for a while or do we just send in that first payment and then be done with sending money?

  3. Coulson

    I love this idea, and vote Yoda:)

  4. Piper

    I think that adopting an orca would be really cool! I would like to adopt a whale that doesnt’ have that many people interested in it.

    –Piper:)

  5. Bryan

    Personally, I think we should adopt an orca whale. It would be a good expirence for our class, and we could learn alot! What would we lose for sponsering a whale? Nothing!! These whales are wonderful, and fascinating. Take a look, they’re amazing!

  6. Kelsey :)

    i think we should adopt an orca because that would be really fun to have and it would be a nice thing for the foundation. I have many favorites i like Cookie and oreo alot!

  7. Corey

    YES!!! WE SHOULD!!!! That would be so cool! (To bad we can’t keep it). I think we should get Granny because she is 98 and she was in the movie “Free Willy.” We would get a famous orca! Hopefully we will be able to adopt an orca. (:

  8. Susanna

    Thanks for finding this website Hannah!
    This is really cool!
    I think we should about one to save orca’s.
    I would like to adop Princess Angeline because she was in Free Willie like some others and I like her name:)

  9. Lynzee

    I think adopting an orca will help us learn how they live in the puget sound.
    If we pay the money to adopt an orca I think the money would go to the orca we choose. I think it would be a worthy place because it would help the whale(s). If we adopted an orca I would choose Eclipse because he is really active and we would get longer and more interesting reports.

  10. Katie

    I think that we should adopt an orca. If the choice was mine, I would do it… the orca we should get Eclipse because she is active and there are endless posobites

  11. Hannah

    I am happy that we might be able to really adopt an orca!
    Here are some answers to the questions:

    1: We can learn problems in the puget sound, maybe even for other animals.

    2:The money goes to research on orcas, so that we can help them stay alive. i believe they are endangered.

    3:YES!!!!!!!!!!! dON’T YOU WANT TO BE HELPING AN ENDANGERED SPECIES?

    4:No Idea! Maybe Alki, because her/his name is important and I had heard of her/him before I even knew that you could adopt one.

  12. Math

    I really want to adopt a whale. My instincts of things say so. I really want to adopt the whale K-13 Skagit. Why? Because she has 4 offsprings! FOUR! My second choice would be J-14 Samish. Why? Her grandmother is Granny and her great uncle is ruffles so she is related to two whales in Free Willie. I think that is amazing! Well, I was also wondering how long we would be “adopting” the whale. Maybe Fluke will be one of my choices because they (the people of America) don’t know if Fluke is a boy or a girl. We also might get a note saying whether Fluke is a boy or girl. I also like the name Fluke. I hope that we get a whale. Well, please please please pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee vote yes so we can get an orca whale.
    THANK YOU!!

  13. Xandria (i dont know my real name)

    I hope we adopt a whale. the whale i would like to adopt is (#105) fluke. the people do not know if it is male or femal.

  14. Kira

    I think that Orcas are really CUTE!!!! I really want to adopt either the orca Suttles or the orca Eclipse. Dont ask me why, I just like those two. I mean Yoda is a cool name, but I think its a little wierd for a Female. Plese consider adopting Suttles or Eclipse.

  15. Isaac

    Hannah, you really like finding cool websites about orcas and then, POOF! there’s one right in front of you where can adopt an orca! I can’t belive that you even wanted to do that! I thought adopting an orca would cost around $100! But that was a fun idea! THANK YOU HANNAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ISAC HARPER

  16. Aubrey

    Wow this is like history…. and yes, can we PLEASE adopt an orca whale, we’ll need a pretty bid tank but we can fit him and his giant fish bowl in the place where the playground is…. and we would need the fish bowl to be 10 times the size of him, and we would need to all fish in Seattle every day for fresh fish to feed him, then after he gets comfortable we can get an even BIGGER fish tank and get him a mate so we can have baby orcas oh wouldn’t it be fun to fish 24 7 AROUND the clock 🙂 😉

    sorry i’m hyper right about now something about to much sugar, but too much sugar does not exist so…

  17. Crosby

    I think the 2013-2014 should adopt an orca the color of BUTTER

  18. Aubrey

    I’m the only one that knows that crosby is about to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar