Skip to content

Can you identify these Pacific Northwest flora and fauna?

Welcome back from Spring Break!

One of the goals I have for students during our Puget Sound unit is for them to be able to identify common Pacific Northwest marine plants and animals.  Knowing the names of native plants and animals helps students become aware of details and diversity, develop appreciation for our diversity and impress out of town friends and relatives. 🙂 Really.

Students, I know it’s been like … years … away from the classroom, but can you indentify the plants and animals in the pictures below?

Mystery creature number 1:

Mystery creature number 2 & Mystery plant #1:

Mystery creature #3 & Mystery plant #2:

Mystery plant #3:

Happy identifying!

-Ms. Isler

Published innot a category

5 Comments

  1. Kelsey

    I think the first picture is a sea anomone. The second one I think is a sea jelly or jelly fish. The third picture looks like a peice of sea weed or sea lettuce. Last but not least the picture looks like some straw grass or type of weed.

  2. Mystery Animal 1
    Sea Anenome
    Mystery Animal 2
    Hooded Nudibranch
    Mystery Animal 3
    Limpets
    Mystery Plant 1
    Sea Lettuce
    Mystery Plant 2
    Rockweed
    Mystery Plant 3
    Bull Kelp

  3. Corey

    Mystery Creature #1: Drumroll please…Sea anemone??? Mystery Thing #2: Drumroll…I don’t know…I don’t think it’s a jellyfish is it a Nudibranch???And the plant is sea lettuce Mystery 3: Don’t know…Sorry…maybe some algae or barnacles Mystery #4: Is it…BULL KELP??? Hopefully I win or at least do quite adequate…I’d like to thank the academy…

  4. Bryan

    Mystery Creature 1: sea anemone
    Mystery Creature 2 and Plant 1: nudibranch and sea lettuce
    Mystery Creature 3 and Plant 2: Barnacles and sea weed
    Mystery Plant 3: Bull Kelp

  5. Christian

    Mystery creature 1: I think that it is a sea anemone.

    Mystery creature 2 & mystery plant 1: I think that the creature is a nudibranch and the plant is sea lettuce.

    Mystery creature 3 & mystery plant 2: I think that the creature are barnacles and the plant is seaweed

    Mystery plant 3: I think that it is bull kelp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar